Dorset Cereals…Part One

A couple of weeks ago I arrived at work to find 2 huge boxes with my name on them.  At first, not remembering ordering anything on the internet…I was confused!!  Upon closer inspection however I realised it was a delivery from Dorset Cereals who I’d been in contact with about reviewing some of their cereals.  To be honest I wasn’t expecting A LOT…maybe one of each of their products to try or perhaps just a few samples packs, so you can imagine my delight when opened the boxes to find this…

IMG_0657

I am going to split the review in 2 parts…1st up the granola, and porridge.  Followed by a post on the muesli’s and snack bars (so much to talk about!)

One thing I will say about Dorset Cereals is that they really deliver on their promises.  By that I mean if they call something ‘gingerbread’ for example, thats exactly what it tastes like and they really pack some flavour punch!

So the porridges (oatmeal to anyone reading from USA!)…

Available flavours & nutritional stats (when made as directed) are;

  • Gingerbread (223cals, 9.0g protein, 33.8g carbs, 14.5g of which sugars, 5.1 fat, 3.9 fibre)
  • Raspberry & Pumpkin (265cals, 11.5g protein, 39.6g carbs, 17.2 of which sugars, 6g                                  fat, 5g fibre)
  • Unflavoured (223cals, 9.8g protein, 33.3g carbs, 8.5g of which sugars, 4.9g fat, 4.5g fibre)

These guys come in convenient individual packages and are a blend of jumbo & fine cut oats with barley flakes.

The pack instructions recommend making them with milk, which of course is exactly what I did, made in the traditional way in a pan on the stove with a wooden spoon the end result is a luxurious, super creamy porridge.  These guys really have got the ‘blend’ of oats right and the barley flakes add another dimension; chewy and nutty, in contrast to the smooth and creamy oats…I loved it.

The flavours…my oh my, what can I say…simply delicious!  I LOVE gingerbread (gingerbread syrup at Starbuck is my all time favourite!) so i thought this would be my hands down favourite, but I think I like them both just as much.  Now that’s not to say the gingerbread didn’t live up to my hopes, maybe though the raspberry surprised me…I really like the added crunch that the pumpkin seeds give it.

Nutritionally speaking I think these are pretty good.  When I look at nutrition stats I tend to look at 3 things; protein – I try to include at least 15g protein at breakfast for satiety, sugars – I try to avoid ‘added’ sugars where ever possible to minimise glycemic response, fibre – the higher the better, to fill me up!!

The flavoured ones do have around 7-10g of added sugars that aren’t from milk but they come from dates which are a natural source of sweetness.  Oats are generally fairly low in protein, as i’ve mentioned before for an extra boost I like to add an egg to my oats which makes them even more creamy and almost custard like 😀

The Granola……

Available flavours & Nutrition Stats – per 45g serving with 125ml milk;

  • Strawberry & Redcurrant (251cals, 8.8g protein, 31.1g carbs, 14.2g sugars, 9.5g fat, 3.4g fibre)
  • Cherry & Almond (266cals, 9.5g protein, 29.7g carbs, 14.4g sugars, 11.4g fat, 3.5g fibre)
  • Chocolate & Macadamia (264cals, 8.1g protein, 29.9g carbs, 16.2g sugars, 12g fat, 3.2g fibre)
  • Honey (277cals, 8.8g protein, 28.7g carbs, 11.6g sugars, 13.6g fat, 2.5g fibre)

Again these are certainly very tasty, they are apparently “baked in the traditional way to make it loose and tumbly” and thats exactly how it is, crunchy and ‘tumbly’ with a good amount of bigger chunks.  The flavour is perfectly balanced, and really comes through.

The strawberry, cherry and chocolate do have ‘invert sugar syrup’ as their 2nd listed ingredient and for that reason I personally would try to have these as a yogurt/cottage cheese topping around my workouts as snacks instead of meals.

The honey one was definitely my favourite, I didn’t find it as sweet and loved the chunks of nuts and seeds you get (sunflower, pumpkin, almond and pecans…deelish!)

My only slight critique of these would be that I found the sweetness quite intense, especially for breakfast…but thats just my personal taste 🙂

I also feel I should point out that it is important to be mindful of portion sizes, I’ve taken a couple of pics to illustrate what 45g of granola looks like and another of a portion of oats for comparison (I hope you find this useful?)

IMG_0690IMG_0711

Quite a difference right? The porridge comes in individual portions and that granola is 1/3 cup (heaped)….just something to keep in mind 🙂

This weeks been a busy one…work, uni, study, sleep…etc, I can’t believe it’s Thursday already!!

I move house 2 weeks today (!!!!!!!) so the next few days are going to be spent doing the above + packing!!

Oh yeah and tonight I’ve got my step class…something I’m actually looking forward to!!

Questions: Have you tried dorset cereals? and do you think cereal is suitable as a snack any time of day (i definitely do!!) or do you usually only eat them as a breakfast food?

Hope you’re having a good week.

L x

Leave a Reply

