Tasty…

Boy did I have a delicious breakfast this morning…

IMG_0684

IMG_0686

oh…my…life….so tasty!!

This mornings creation included avocado, cheese, egg, burgen bread…enough said.

Full of:  protein – egg, cheese and burgen

fat – avocado, egg and cheese

slow release carbs – soya & linseed burgen bread

+ coffee (no surprise there!)

a great start to what will be a busy day 🙂

Burgen bread is one of the few breads I include in my diet on a regular basis and here’s some reasons why:

Nutritional Stats:

Typical values Per 100g Per Slice
Energy 1183kJ/282kcal 521kJ/124kcal
Protein 15.9g 7g
Carbohydrate 27.3g 12.0g
Of which: sugars 5.4g 2.4g
Fat 10.1g 4.4g
Of which: saturates 1.4g 0.6g
Of which: monounsaturates 2.6g 1.1g
Of which: polyunsaturates 5.1g 2.2g
Of which: Omega (ALA) 2.8g (140% RDI**) 1.2g (60% RDI**)
Fibre 9.3g 4.1g
Sodium 0.30g 0.13g
Salt 0.75g 0.33g
Calcium 275mg (34% RDA*) 121mg (15% RDA*)
  • It has the highest protein content of any bread I’ve found in the UK
  • It’s full healthy fats from the linseeds
  • Compared to other breads it is relatively low in carbohydrates meaning our bodies produce less insulin (which stops our brain releasing the ‘fullness’ hormone Leptin).  It contains enough carbohydrates for our bodies to use for energy but not too much to cause the blood sugar and energy ‘crashes’ associated with some high carb foods
  • It’s delicious!!

My only gripe with this product is that it contains ‘sugar’.  Whilst I know sugar is added by producers to activate the commercial yeast they use, I prefer not to have sugar added to my food!

I’m thinking of starting a ‘Sourdough Challenge’, getting a starter going and using it to make as many bread foods as I can, I’m thinking….loaves of bread (obviously!), pancakes, english muffins, maybe even having a go at bagels…sounds fun right??!

Question:  Have you ever made bread or any ‘bread type’ foods using a sourdough starter?  

Happy Thursday!!!

Lx

3 thoughts on “Tasty…

  1. I’ve never used a sourdough started but I pretty much only eat my own home-made bread (made in a bread maker), which is yummy, and I can control the additives/sugar! Good luck with your challenge – the bread in your post sounds great 🙂

    • me too…I had the same again this morning it was so good 🙂 been a bit disappointed with the freshness of my apparent ‘local, free range’ eggs I’ve been buying from a local shop so may have to look for another supplier!! x

Leave a Reply

